The Adventure Continues, in Seattle

Sometimes you gotta go back to home base before you can run forward again, or something like that. I have been in Seattle since Sunday night, after nabbing the last seat on a flight out of Sacramento. My sweet car awaits me in the economy parking at the Sac-town Airport. I hope it’s doing okay in all the heat.

Monday morning and we're working! I'm at my freelance office in Seattle with my hostess, Mom.
Monday morning and we’re working! I’m at my freelance office in Seattle with my hostess, Mom.

Seattle

It’s been a busy visit. I had some freelance work and other grown up stuff to take care of when I first arrived. I also saw the movie “Learning to Drive” (slow paced but refreshingly unflashy), I went to the Puyallup Fair, did important jeez-I-guess-I-DO-need-that-for-my-trip shopping downtown, and tonight a friend is in town who is having a happy hour. It’s all working out.

The Quigg girls "do the Puyallup." Heart was playing on the mainstage. We heard "What About Love." What about awesome!
The Quigg girls “do the Puyallup.” Heart was playing on the mainstage. We heard “What About Love.” What about awesome!

The thing that hasn’t quite worked out, yet, is fixing my tooth. This is tooth number 31, way back on the bottom right. It’s where I wear my stress, apparently, because I’ve ground it down over the years and now it has a fracture.

It’s seen a lot of good and bad dental work (part of the fracture). And, it’s so mad about everything that my dentist couldn’t get it to calm down and go numb on Wednesday morning. After one and a half hours of trying things and waiting to see if they worked, he said, “You gotta know when to say when, and I’m saying when.”

I met Longstreet, my friend Colleen's baby, and got to chat with her about being a new mom. She's rocking it.
I met Longstreet, my friend Colleen’s baby, and got to chat with her about being a new mom. She’s rocking it.

So, I’m headed back to the chair on Friday morning. Wish me luck! Once the work is done I can keep traveling. For now, my tooth is my traveling companion who stubbornly wants to stay in Seattle until she’s ready to move on.

So Much Fun Ahead

You are all so wonderful. Did you know that?

Since my first blog, I have received more virtual high fives and invites to do fun things than I could have dreamed. This morning I woke up to an offer of a bunkhouse in a barn 40 miles north of San Louis Obispo. Yes, please! Especially if I get to hang out with chickens and move hay around. I’m serious.

I made friends at the Fair with the crew from Bossy Acres farm in Toledo, Wa. I plan to visit them on the way back for "Hillbilly Golf," where you use croquet mallets to steer clear of cowpies!
I made friends at the Fair with the crew from Bossy Acres farm in Toledo, Wa. I plan to visit them on the way back for “Hillbilly Golf,” where you use croquet mallets to steer clear of cow pies. Who’s in?

My friend Paul has invited me sailing in San Francisco. My friend Nadia has an extra bedroom in Palo Alto. My super chef friend Carolynn awaits me in Phoenix. And, I now know of another college friend who’s in DC (Meghvi!), have invites to Dallas and both North and South Carolina, and a reminder that the most-fun fun will be awaiting me when I get to Ellensburg, Washington. That’s true!

For now, me and #31 are gonna have a gentle, loving talk about progress, letting go, moving forward, and embracing the future.

“Oh, Seattle!” Show on Oct. 18th

In other news, I’ve booked some space and am bringing back “Oh, Seattle!” for a matinee performance on Sunday, Oct. 18th. I’ll be at the Jewelbox Theater at the Rendezvous on Second Avenue in Belltown. I have the theater from 3 – 6 pm. Mark your calendars-ish. I will start the show sometime around 3:30 or 4. I’ll keep you updated.

Oh, Seattle Logo

In the meantime, shout outs to Damaris who came to the show in February and has her “Oh, Seattle!” theme song lyrics in her cube at work. You go, girl! Sing it out!

I’ll plan to post videos of the songs as I prepare so you can all sing along at the next show. “Oh, Seattle, hand me a paddle…”

2 thoughts on “The Adventure Continues, in Seattle

Leave a Reply

