The Rootless Wonder Returns to the Road

Today was a good day. Tooth #31 decided to check into Reality Hotel and go numb. Now I have rubber roots and permission to travel.

By the way, I’ve decided that someone needs to start a zydeco band for children and call it “Rubber Roots.” Am I right?

My mom is a flight attendant and she's cute as a button. This was her heading off to work on yesterday.
My mom is a flight attendant and she’s cute as a button. This was her heading off to work yesterday.

Root Canal Highlights

Hey, even a traffic jam can have highlights. Here were some of the more outstanding moments of my endodontic procedure.

Going Numb. My doc found a place in the back of my tooth that made it so I didn’t feel the Ice Prick of Pain.

Unlike on Wednesday, when they “tested” my tooth and I jumped out of my seat, scissor-kicked my heels into the chair, and they asked, “You felt that?” Um, yes… that’s why I just jumped out of my seat and scissor-kicked my heels into the chair.

On this trip, more than any time in the past, I had a lot of conversations about how Seattle is changing. This is some art from the side of a utility box on Capitol Hill.
On this visit, I heard a lot of conversations about how Seattle is changing. Here is some Capitol Hill art summing up the feelings.

The Conversation. Once I was numb for sure, the whole room released its constipation of anticipation and bright energy of “It’s on!” filled up the place. Here was the conversation that followed:

Doc: Okay, you ready?

Me: I’m scared.

Doc: Me, too. Let’s rock ‘n roll.

That made me laugh.

The Speed. My doc worked with the speed and precision of a NASCAR pit crew all-star. He showed tremendous expertise as he balanced measuring, cleaning, checking in on my mental health, and then finishing the job before the anesthesia wore off.

I am deeply indebted to him for his care. He’s given me back the road and I’m gonna drive it all the way to the Grand Canyon.

This pre-trip-reading tarot card addressed my future health - strong at the core with lots of healthy growth. Rootless wonder!
This pre-trip-reading tarot card addressed my future health – strong at the core with lots of healthy growth. Rootless wonder!

San Fran Awaits

Sunday and Monday, I’ll make a brief stop in the Bay Area and then go further south. I will miss many of my friends and the fun in the Bay but I’ll see you all again. It’s a short flight.

And, big hugs to you, Seattle. You are the squishy pillow of hometown love upon which I lay my weary head, and receive medical care. Thank you for sharing.

 

Leave a Reply

